top of page

MMS Science Olympiad takes first at regionals

The Menomonie Middle School Science Olympiad team has advanced to the state meet after winning the west regional title on Saturday in Boyceville. Menomonie Maroon scored 40 points, narrowly edging out Boyceville's second place score of 46. The team medaled in all but one of their events.

Menomonie Maroon advances to the state meet which will be held at UW Milwaukee on April 1st.

1st place medals

Codebusters - Noah Winder, Emily Hoyland and Oliver Lugo

Crave the Wave - Otis Yonko and Logan Topper

Crime Busters - Emily Hoyland and Ellie Moulder

Disease Detectives - Nora Skorczewski and Andrew Heckendorf

Dynamic Planet - Carly Weber and Nora Skorczewski

Fast Facts - Oliver Lugo and Mathew Snavely

Meteorology - Carly Weber and Andrew Heckendorf

Picture This - Logan Topper, Noah Winder and Tim Behrends

Rocks and Minerals - Jae Hasse and Oliver Lugo

Solar System - Logan Topper and Carly Weber

2nd place medals

Bioprocesses - Andrew Heckendorf and Alex Heckendorf

Experimental Design - Oliver Lugo, Noah Winder, and Emily Hoyland

Flight- Alex Heckendorf and Andrew Heckendorf

Forestry - Jai Hasse and Nora Trotter

Green Generation - Otis Yonko and Nora Trotter

Horticulture - Ellie Moulder and Ellie Beck

RoboCross - Noah Winder and Mathew Snavely

Sounds of Music- Ellie Moulder and Alex Heckendorf

Storm the Castle - Logan Topper and Noah Winder

3rd place medals

Anatomy and Physiology - Ellie Beck and Andrew Heckendorf

Bridge - Tim Behrends and Mathew Snavely

Virology - Nora Scorczewski and Ellie Beck

Wheeled Vehicle - Tim Behrends and Alex Heckendorf

4th place medals

Can't Judge a Powder - Otis Yonko and Jai Hasse

Road Scholar - Mathew Snavely and Nora Trotter

Roller Coaster - Logan Topper and Tim Behrends

Write it Do it - Jai Hasse and Mathew Snavely

Menomonie Middle School took 4 teams to the regional event. Students winning medals on the other teams are Sully Bast, Brody Brown, Xavier Finazzo, Toni Fiorani, Payton Gregerson, Gabe Grutt, Ryan Hulburt, Oliver Kerze, James Kong, Brianna Klimek, Aiden Kroenig, Grant Nigon, Sydney Norby, Ethan Nyirongo, Mia Osterhaus, Seth Ray, Noah Sabelko, Caylee Schaefer, Ella Weinberger, and Carly Zack.

The Science Olympiad team is coached by Natalie Topper, Amy Zuber and Rachel Scott.


bottom of page