top of page

MHS seniors Anna Imsande and Sam Seguin among Herb Kohl Scholarship winners

The Herb Kohl Educational Foundation recently announced that 306 Wisconsin students, teachers, and administrators are the recipients of the organization’s 2023 Student Excellence and Initiative, Teacher Fellowship and Principal Leadership awards.

Student Excellence and Initiative Scholarships of $10,000 were awarded to 190 graduating high school students who have demonstrated academic excellence and have displayed a broad range of activity and leadership in their community.

Two Menomonie High School seniors, Anna Imsande and Sam Seguin are recipients of the Student Excellence Scholarship.

Anna Imsande was captain of this year's cross country team and was an individual state qualifier. She is also a member of the track team. She is one of the captains of the Science Olympiad team, an FBLA officer and a student council representative. Anna is also a member of the National Honor Society and is a National Merit semi-finalist. Anna is the daughter of Kristin and Jeff Imsande.

Sam Seguin is a member of the cross country and track teams, played in both the band and jazz band and starred in several musical productions. He has participated in and served as the captain of the Science Olympiad team, Acedemic Decathlon team and National Ocean Science Bowl team. He is a member of the National Honor Society and the president of his 4H Club. Sam is the son of Amy (Zuber) and Brian Seguin.

“Education is the key to the future of Wisconsin and our nation,” former U.S. Sen. Herb Kohl said. “These student, teacher, and principal award recipients have demonstrated incredible hard work, achievements, and service. I congratulate them all and hope this award not only helps them in their individual pursuits but also reminds them to pay it forward in the future.”

Award recipients are selected by a statewide committee composed of civic leaders and representatives of education-related associations and the program’s co-sponsors: The Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, regional Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESA), the Association of Wisconsin School Administrators, and the Wisconsin Homeschooling Parents Association.

The Kohl Foundation award program was established by Herb Kohl, former U.S. Senator, philanthropist, and businessman. Since 1990, the foundation has awarded nearly $34 million to Wisconsin educators, principals, students, and schools.


bottom of page